Day 16, 17, 18, and 19,

I apologize to all of our blog followers, We have been moving and haven’t been able to keep up with the blog.  We were dealing with packing, moving company, and another sewage overflow.  It is so amazing to free ourselves of the ball and chain of a lease.  The property managers were understanding and very nice about everything.  They freed us from our lease with no penalty.

photo 1

Right now we are in Santa Cruz staying with our friend Jeff Harper.  He showed us all around Santa Cruz today.  It is stormy right now but the town is still so beautiful!  I would rather live here than anywhere else in Cali.  Any way let me catch you guys up on the food we have been eating.

photo 3

We have made a couple of batches of Hummus.  One was a variation on the Roasted Red Pepper hummus.  The other one is something that I whipped up yesterday with the ingredients we had left at the house before we packed everything up.  It tastes amazing! It is the best Hummus we have made.  It may even be the best hummus I have ever tried!  You be the judge…

Travis’ Black Beach Hummus

Ingredients: 

1/2 can of garbanzo beans

1/2 can of black beans

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 1/2 tablespoon of minced garlic

2 teaspoons of tahini paste

1 habenero or other strong pepper, seeded

2 tablespoons of cilantro

1 tablespoon of sriracha

1 tablespoon of cumin or mexican seasoning

1 tablespoon of lemon juice

1 dash of salt, 1 dash of pepper (optional)

Directions: Put all ingredients into Vitamix and mix on the smoothie setting.  Serve at room temperature or chilled with tortilla chips or carrots.

Image

Honestly, this is the best Hummus out!  The taste is characterized by the liberal amount of garlic, and the spice of the pepper and sriracha.  All the other flavors compliment those two very well.

We drove 9 hours up to Santa Cruz from San Diego and for the second half of the trip there were no restaurants in sight except fast food.  I am so glad that we were prepared!  We had Trail mix that we put together.  It consisted of Almonds, peanuts, dried cranberries, sunflower seeds, and organic chocolate chips.  I love trail mix! I could eat it as a meal.

We also had the two hummus’ and some salsa for the road.  We were also equipped with Organic flax seed whole wheat bread.  Best bread for the price anywhere!  Go get some from Costco!  Multi grain or whole wheat!

Image

So being a vegan is hard!  You have to stay alert at all times or someone will slip something into your food that you were not planning on eating.  That is exactly what happened to me today.  Our friend Jeff has been awesome in helping us eat Vegan while staying with him.  He had a vegan pizza already for us right when we got there!

He took us to this burrito shop in downtown Santa Cruz.  They had a bunch of burrito options on their menu and then four veggie burritos on the side of the menu.  I ordered the Cajun fresh burrito.  There was also a Cajun burrito you could get with chicken, pork, or prawns (which Jeff ordered).  When I ordered, I initially ordered it with Mexican rice.  The guy then told me it was made with chicken stock.  So I told him to give me the brown rice then.  Then he ask me “with Prawn?”  Hey had a mexican accent so what I heard is “with brown”- and I said yes.  He asked me again with a puzzled look.  I again heard “with brown?”  – “Yes,” I replied again.

When I got my burrito i already had a sauce cup full of salsa, another full of cilantro, and another full of chipotle hot salsa.  I was pouring all of this all over it!  IT tasted great but I did not realize that there was shrimp in my burrito until I was about 5 bites in!  I had consumed two shrimp!

My first thought was that I could just eat the rest of this burrito and nobody would know!  It did taste amazing, and I missed the taste and texture of shrimp so much!  I grew up loving seafood!  So many great memories with those Shrimp!  Shrimp stew, shrimp kabobs, shrimp scampi, shrimp and potatoes, fried shrimp, coconut shrimp, etc.  etc.  In case you did not catch it, that was a Forest Gump reference; my favorite movie of all times.

I must admit, once that I realized that it was shrimp, I took another bite!  I was buying time.  I had to be true to what we were doing.  I decided I had to confront this issue.  I came clean!  I told Danielle and Jeff what had happened.  Danielle, being the loving wife she is, held me accountable and told me to go and ask for another burrito.  Thats what I did.

The Veggie Cajun Fresh Burrito was even better than the prawn burrito.  I was happy with my decision.  I would not have been able to make that decision with out my lovely wife and the accountability.  Accountability is crucial to anyone trying to adopt this lifestyle!

So now that we are settled in at Jeff’s House we are going shopping.  There are some really good recipes to come!  Stay tuned for an amazing Quinoa dish coming soon!

Leave a Reply

